HCE Review (ISSN 2009-9916) is a quarterly online literary journal launched in 2016 by the MA and MFA Creative Writing courses at University College Dublin. The journal aims to publish fiction, poetry, creative non-fiction, and visual art from both established and emerging writers and artists from around the world.

The HCE Review podcast works in conjunction with the online journal to bring literature into the digital sphere, hosting regular readings and speeches by prominent Irish authors, and featuring discussions of the pieces that appear in the online journal.


Our name is inspired by James Joyce’s novel, Finnegans Wake. “HCE” refers to the central character, initially named Humphrey (or Harold) Chimpden Earwicker. However, these three letters are ascribed thousands of various meanings throughout the course of the novel.

In choosing this name, it is our desire not only to pay homage to Joyce, one of UCD’s most prominent graduates, but also to evoke the fluidity of names in Finnegans Wake, signifying the individuality of each person on our staff, and each contributor to our journal.

 Staff 2017


Co-Editor-in-Chief: Justine Carbery

Co-Editor-in-chief: Amy Gaffney

Fiction Team Leads: Katy Thornton and Bríon Hoban

Fiction Readers: Jamie Stedmond, Shayna Sappington, Lauren Mackenzie, Paula Whelan

Creative Non-fiction Team Lead: Krista Keyes

CNF Readers:  Pierce Morton, Geraldine Moane, Shayna Sappington,
Katy Thornton, Brian Carroll

Poetry Team Lead:  Siobhan Mac Mahon

Poetry Readers:  Pierce Morton, Paula Whelan

Podcast Team:  Siobhan Mac Mahon and Adam Donnelly

Social Media:   Adam Donnelly

Design:  Jamie Stedmond

Art  Team Lead: Lauren Mackenzie,

Art Assistants:   Paula Whelan, Angela Finn

STAFF 2016
Curtis Harrison, Editor-in-chief
Kerry Ulm and Lisa Herden, Team Leads
Manus Boyle Tobin,Chris Connolly
Niamh Crosbie,Keri Heath
Deborah Lawson Lucas, Mallory Melton,Tina Møller
Susanna Naismith, Caitriona O’Malley, Jordan Smith
Aidan Dolbashian, Team Lead
Chris Connolly,Manus Boyle Tobin, Ryan Murphy,Grace Wilentz
Jordan Smith, Team Lead
Manus Boyle Tobin, Niamh Crosbie, Aidan Dolbashian
Tina Møller, Kerry Ulm, Grace Wilentz
Jordan Smith, Team Lead
Manus Boyle Tobin, Niamh Crosbie, Keri Heath
Ryan Murphy,     Caitriona O’Malley
Keri Heath, Team Lead
Lisa Herden, Deborah Lawson Lucas, Mallory Melton
Caitriona O’Malley, Karl Quigley, Jordan Smith, Kerry Ulm
Niamh Crosbie, Team Lead
Mallory Melton, Karl Quigley
Tina Møller, Team Lead,
Keri Heath, Lisa Herden, Deborah Lawson Lucas, Mallory Melton
Mallory Melton, Design Team Lead
Ryan Murphy, Art Team Lead
Aidan Dolbashian
Karl Quigley